Columbia University Announces Search Committee for New Dean
Posted: 10/31/2012  |  By: Press Release
Columbia University President Lee C. Bollinger has accounted the formation of a search committee to help in identifying the next dean of Columbia Journalism School, as Nicholas Lemann announced his plans to step down following a ten-year term in June 2013. The search committee will conduct interviews of a select group of candidates and submit their recommendations to the president, who will work closely with Provost John Coatsworth and their staffs to make a final selection. 

The search committee is composed of representatives from the extended Columbia community, along with several members of the Journalism School faculty, administration and study body, including Ann K. Cooper, CBS Professor of Professional Practice in International Journalism and Director of the Broadcasting Graduate Program; Thomas B. Edsall, Joseph Pulitzer II and Edith Pulitzer Moore Professor of Journalism; Howard W. French, Associate Professor; LynNell Hancock, H. Gordon Garbedian Professor of Journalism and Director of the Spencer Fellowship Program; KC Ifeanyi, student at the Journalism School; Nilda Mesa, Associate Dean of Administrative Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer; Mirta Ojito, Assistant Professor; Michael Schudson, Professor; Sree Sreenivasan, Chief Digital Officer and Professor of Professional Practice; Duy Linh Tu, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice and Head of the Digital Media Program; and Betsy West, Associate Professor of Professional Practice.

The committee does welcome nominations and encourages suggestions to